National – SASA Treasurers

From 1888 to 1994, the finances of the Association were managed by volunteer/honorary Treasurers, who worked tirelessly to keep the Association in the “black”. The financial performance over this period was mixed, with a number of “red” years, which caused the Council many sleepless nights and on several occasions additional “levies” had to be sought from the membership.
The Association has been supported over more recent years by the Scottish Sports Council – now sportscotland – and the overall income of the Association is now a combination of external grants and internal membership fees. When the Association had a major “reorganisation in 1993/94, the post of Honorary Treasurer was discontinued and the Association’s finances became the responsibility of the newly introduced post of “Vice-Chair of Finance & Administration” – Stewart Martin.


Year Name Club
1888 R.A. Robertson West of Scotland
1889-90 D.M. Fleming Southern
1891-92 A. McMillan South Side
1893-95 D. McKellar Leander
1896 A.T. Mylles Western
1897 G.M. Paterson Warrender
1898-99 T.A. Jamieson Pollokshields Baths
1900 P.S. Fraser West of Scotland
1901-06 W. Slimmon Northern
1907 J.R. McKay Whitehall
1908-12 J. Foster Warrender
1913-14 C.P. Symington Warrender
1915-19 World War I  
1920 C.P. Symington Warrender
1921-24 W.F. Thomson Belmont
1925-28 O.W.D. McKenzie South Side
1929-34 J. MacDonald Western
1935-37 A. Campbell Western
1938-39 A.L. Esslemont Aberdeen Thistle
1940-45 World War II  
1946-53 W. Foulds Paisley
1954 A. Williams Motherwell
1955-71 J.W. Williamson Portobello
1972-75 I.M. Martin Kirkintilloch
1976 P. Stevenson Warrender
1977-78 R. Smith Cumbernauld
1979-85 L.W. Turberville Bon-Accord
1986-91 M. Sheppard Milngavie and Bearsden
1991-94 W. Charles Stirling
Role Discontinued – Organisation Restructure